About Perhentian Island

Just Clear Waters…

The Perhentian group of islands is located 20 kilometres off the coast of Terengganu, a state on the East Coast of Peninsular Malaysia. The Perhentian Islands, are one of the designated Marine Parks of Malaysia. This group of Islands comprise Pulau Perhentian Besar, Pulau Perhentian Kecil, Pulau Rawa, Pulau Serenggeh, Pulau Susu Dara Besar and Pulau Susu Dara Kecil. The islands are mostly still covered by virgin jungle. Their powdery white beaches meet sapphire blue crystalline waters.

The word ” Perhentian” in Malay means stopover and according to local oral history, the islands were a stopover for the treasure ships plying the east-west shipping lanes. Today, the Perhentian Islands are an idyllic “stopover” for those in need of rejuvenation. Of the two major islands Pulau Perhentian Besar and Pulau Perhentian Kecil, the bigger island is more developed whilst the smaller is still quite isolated and remain pristine.

Perhentian Island is renowned for its excellent snorkeling and world class dive sites. Fringing coral reefs are a blend of hard coral species with patches of soft corals, whip corals and sponges growing on boulders, with most dive sites easily accessible.